Naughty vent

I try really hard not to bitch and moan about Lovechild’s Daddy on here, for a couple of reasons. He really is a good dad, always on time with money and whatnot, and although he isn’t perfect, none of us are. I hate (don’t laugh) releasing negative ‘vibes’ into the atmosphere, I’m generally a very positive person. Also, I imagine that one day in the future, Lovechild and her family might read what I’ve written here (I wish my Nan blogged.) With that said, I’m about to vent anyway.

 

For the last few years we’ve had a really good system set up, where I’ve worked night shifts over the weekends Lucy was at her Dad’s. This freed me up to do all the kindy pick ups and parent her full time when she was with me. It was awesome for all of us, L got stability, I got to be as close to a full time parent as I could be, and he got to work around his employment. This year, however, I’m working 4 shifts a week and studying another one, plus out of uni study/assignments. I’m busy, and there’s no doubt that’s impacting on her. I’ve had to book before and after school care, rope in friends and family to do pick ups and can’t be as involved in her schooling as I’d love to be. This makes me sad, makes me feel guilty and awful and sick to the stomach, even though I KNOW its the best thing for my whole little family.

 

Today, I dropped LC off at school and on my way to uni, messaged Her Dad (HD) to double check that he was picking her up, or had arranged for her to be picked up. It’s his night with her, I’m at uni till way later than she finishes school. We’ve had the discussion about me going back to full time work and study, he was well aware that that was the score now. Last week, he picked her up on his nights and took her to school the following mornings. Luckily I checked, because he “had no idea I expected him to.” After a quick whip around of friends and family and not finding anyone available to pick her up, I explained that he would have to organise something. Cue a tirade of nastiness and blame that ended with the statement “You can’t default responsibility on someone else because you want to study.” Nice. He’s since attempted an explaination that I’ve misunderstood, but I’m not entirely sure how misunderstandable that particular comment is.

 

I calmed down a little after an angry sob in the uni carpark and half a day’s distance between now and the incident. I can only imagine what the ongoing fall out from this little incident will be.

Right, I might delete this. Don’t want too much bad juju out there. LJxx

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Mitchell
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:56:03

    So after crying ‘misunderstanding’, did he, in fact find someone to pick her up? I hope that you didn’t have to.

    Everyone needs a quick vent from time to time. I hope you feel better. xxxx

    Reply

  2. MG
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 14:57:03

    A vent is never Naughty just a part of life!

    Reply

  3. selwhat
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 17:53:51

    You are allowed to bitch and moan. But make sure you buy someone a coffee for the good juju it releases. Love you. He’s being a fuck.

    Reply

  4. AJ
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 22:54:45

    Totally agree with Sel’s last comment!

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 07:50:36

    Vent away. It’s your blog. You’re doing what’s best for your & LC’s future. Stuff him & his potty mouth. Like Sel said, he is totally being a fuck.
    Bet he couldn’t study/work/mother/house duties etc etc all at once. You rock and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

