Yawn

I finished up the nursing job I’ve been doing for a few years, and am now mourning the loss of my awesome collegues, the autonomy that comes with night duty, the basic nursing care and the tricky nursing care. Still, I got into nursing to do Midwifery, and that’s where I am now. I’ve spent the last 5 days sitting in a classroom doing a crash course in pregnancy, labour, delivery and post natal care.

 

Very full on, overwhelming, lots of stress related tears this week. Boyfriend has been housesitting for both of his parents (a new niece-in-law interstate, yay) so is only home half the time so between feeding cats, dogs, study, school runs and all the day to day stuff, we’ve barely seen each other. Lovechild is in full time school and is just as wrecked as the rest of us, its so new to her. Long story short, we go out separate directions early each morning and make it back home late each night, but we get to recharge and curl up together at the end of the long long days. He surprises me every day with his support, wise words and insight. I’m reminded every day how we are both completely different and yet that works so well most of the time. It’s not perfect, but then it’s almost perfect in its imperfection. It’s just right. Still some lasting trust issues from ‘the before’ but I think they are more tied up with my anxiety than anything else, and we are working through them. He’s out with his Wombat atm, and I’m being very very brave. He hasn’t smoked, barely drinks, and is working out 3 times a week. He’s doing awesomely. Proud.

 

My diet and fitness have fallen completely by the wayside, although I am trying to be more generally active in day to day life. I’m hoping that a daytime job will help me get into a better routine food and gym wise. I’m getting into the habit of making sandwiches or salads for lunches for Boyfriend and I to take to work/uni at the same time as making Lovechild’s school lunch, which helps immensely. I’ll get there. I did quit smoking though, so that’s very awesome.

 

I feel like there’s more I was goingto blog about but to be honest, I am buggered, and my brain isn’t at its usual full level of awesome. Time for a hot shower and to curl up in bed and study a little I think. Loving the silence tonight, knowing Boyfriend will be home later and Lucy is curled up in her bed.

 

Welcome to all my new readers too. I’ve been shamelessly blogwhoring myself and I love getting new readers and commenters. I’m considering starting up a new, very anonymous blog to chronicle my Midwifery journey, but I might post the best bits here. Happy Saturday, LJxx

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. selwhat
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 06:35:54

    Love you lots and oh so proud of you. I am so glad you have found some happiness. You deserve it and more. Kiss Lovechild Lucy for me and pinch the boyf’s bum. x

    Reply

  2. MG
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 21:43:54

    You rock babe, hope this week is good for you too, call if you need anything, love you xx

    Reply

  3. The Bloat Book
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 13:08:59

    Chin up LJ, no more stress related tears.. This week is a NEW week.
    Love, TBB xxx

    Reply

  4. Melissa Mitchell
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:55:09

    Sounds like so much to be coping with. But also – something to be proud of and a wonderful example for your girl. One can do it all. It’s good to ask for help while doing it all (being a wife/partner, a mother and following your dream) and it’s hard..but has great value. A great life lesson for her.

    I’m glad that the Boyfriend’s coming through for you. xxxx It’s good you have a shoulder.

    Um. If you want you can pinch the boyfriend’s bum from me too. I’m guessing that selwhat actually knows you both, so I imagine from a complete stranger, it’ll freak him out and keep him on his toes more. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

