Breaking Bad

Bad habits, that is.

I’m loving the first day of the Points program. I’m satisfied physically, the food I’m coming up with is new and tasty (ricotta and honey on Rye Cruskits – win!) But I find myself going to the kitchen itching to munch something. It’s not physical hunger, its habit. Its tough to drive past maccas and not grab nuggets. It’s tricky to go down the aisles of the supermarket and not get a comforting snack for later when Lovechild is in bed. But it feels great to succeed. To walk out of the GP and take a deep breath when I smell the nearby takeaway places, almost torture myself with the smell, but then get in the car and drive home to the waiting banana, blueberries, hommus with veggie sticks, pepsi max and all the other free or low point treats I have stocked the house up with to fight off the need to munch bad things. The ‘free’ fruit and veg is awesome, it’s really helping psychologically, and the supermarkets are full of spring fruit at the moment. I’m sure the universe made blueberries half price this week just for me.

I’m not sure if I’ll blog what I’ve eaten every day, but todays meals have been as follows:
Breakfast: 2 poached eggs on a slice of wholemeal toast with olive spread (7 points), Muzz Buzz small flat white (4 points) and the teeny shortbread cookie that comes on top of the MB coffees (1 point, if I use 4 tiny teddies as an equivalent.)
Lunch: 2 Rye Cruskits with ricotta cheese and a drizzle of honey (sooo good, I totally recommend trying this) and two rye cruskits with promite and olive spread. All up 5 points.
Snack was 125g blueberries (freeeeee!)
Dinner will be kangaroo steak (wish me luck) with asparagus, pumpkin, and salad. Points value TBC when I actually decide how to cook it.

That means I’ve used 17 points. Of 43. Hmmm, I wonder if I need to munch something for the sake of it? I am a bit peckish at the moment so maybe I’ll have some of the hommus (60g = 4 points) and free carrot sticks.

This is fun!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Selina
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 18:01:21

    Good luck! Glad you are enjoying yourself! Number junkie.

    Reply

  2. MG
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 19:07:12

    hahaha glad you are enjoying it!! keep eating all those freeee things 😛
    p.s. you really should download and watch breaking bad!!

    Reply

  3. WCA
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 07:51:52

    Great effort, it’s amazing how good food taste’s so good. And great effort on recognising your ‘habit’ of munching isn’t real hunger!

    Reply

  4. Bec
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 12:45:21

    Can I say how much you rock! I seriously need to get my butt into gear. U should change gyms to my new gym- then we can go together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

