Failure?

I can’t tell if this is failure or success. BFF assures me I’m as awesome as ever and that this is me being committed to the cause. That if WLS was the complete answer to everyone’s problems, we’d all have it done as a matter of routine at 18. She is wise, no?

Tonight, I joined Weight Watchers. A weight loss surgery patient having to join weight watchers? I’m struggling to reconcile that ok in my head. But I need a kickstart, because after months of the scales not moving, I’m sick of making excuses. I have to say it felt good to not be the heaviest person in the room this time – not even close. Pardon me while I gloat over other people’s fatness. The leader (shall we call her Mavis? I like that name.) was my leader last time I was at WW a couple of years ago, and she only vaguely remembered me. I have 40kg to lose to get to goal, but I’ve never been that slim before, so I’ll reassess as I get closer. 1kg a week shall be my aim, but I’d like to lose 10kg in the 8 weeks before new years. Breaking the 110 barrier for 2012 would be awesome – 109 seems so much smaller than 111. I’m not really one for setting (and meeting) goals with deadlines, but this seems reasonably doable and would put me 1/4 of the way there. I’m a numbers person, in case you missed the memo.

So, my point allowance is 43 per day, but they also allow you an extra 49 points to use up over the week. This seems like a LOT to me, but I’m assured that it’s all catered for in the points allowances. The other new thing since last time is the fact that fruit and veg is ‘free,’ there’s no points allowance for them. There are some exceptions such as peas, corn, avocado etc, but it suits my desire to ‘treat’ myself with things, and munch late at night. Heaven forbid I actually address these issues, now I just get to work around them. You can earn extra points with exercise, but you don’t have to eat them if you feel like you’re doing fine with your allocated points.

The focus is on protein, fibre, fat and ffff… something else that I think starts with F that I can’t remember. Carbs, that’s it. So you could have a croissant with jam and butter for breakfast, or 2 poached eggs and 1 slice of wholemeal toast with butter for breakfast. Both of these have a Points value of between 7 and 8, and 1084kj. Yet the eggs will keep you going until lunchtime, the croissant will have you searching through the cupboards for a snack by 10. A ham and cheese sandwich on white bread has the same points value as a ham, cheese, beetroot, sprout, lettuce, tomato, carrot, red onion and capsicum sandwich on grain bread.

I bought a Cookbook which has some great, easy recipes in it, with the points values already calculated to get me started. I’ll also learn the points values of some of the basics that happen in this house (steak and salad, poached chicken ala Sel, eggs on toast) and gradually expand my repertoire of recipes.

I’m sure I’ll go to the gym at some point. I am at least getting exercise each day, but I miss that really sweaty couple of hours a few times a week. I’d like to say I’ll go tomorrow but it might be the next day.

Off to finish the dishes. Can’t be organised in the kitchen unless I’m organised in the kitchen. Deep, yes? Wish me luck. LJ xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Selina
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 12:20:54

    Hey gorgeous. I am so proud of you. You are awesome, you just need to realise it. xx

    Reply

  2. Mandy
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 15:34:47

    This post just saved my life. Potentially. Instead of the cheese sandwich I was going to have for dinner, I added lettuce, grated carrot, avocado (instead of margarine) and tomato. Vitamins! Healthy body!
    WLS doesn’t fix what’s going on in your brain. WW is a bit tricky, by letting you eat so many free fruits/vegetables you can train your brain into choosing them. And if you choose fruit/veg over junk, you’re entitled to feel a little smug (you successful weight loser you) and so maybe next time you choose fruit/veg again, and again, and again.
    Hope the first week is easy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

