12 Week Challenge

Today is the 16th June. On September the 8th, I have another surgeon appointment. That’s exactly 12 weeks. I weighed in on Dr P’s scale today at 118kg. I was disappointed 😦 I knowm it means I’ve lost 40kg exactly, and that’s freaking bloody freaking excellent. But I have been stuck near 120 for FREAKING FOREVER and its time to move on. So, Dr P mentions that he’d like me to be about 110kg by the next appointment in about 3 months. The rabid competitive beast within me hears a challenge and latches on like a pit bull attacking, and next thing I know I’ve made an appointment for exactly 12 weeks time (to the hour, literally) and I’m vowing that that 8kg will be GONE. I grab an impromptu appointment with my dietician and plot with her how it can be done. She writes me up an ever so complicated food diary about servings of grains and protein and dairy, and I struggle not to vague out (it was weigh in day, I hadn’t eaten yet. Show me a dieter who doesn’t know that concept.) But I’ve taken out a few key concepts.

 

1. Keep it under 1000 calories. A day. Holy shit. How am I going to binge now?

2. 80 – 90g of protein a day. Each serve of dairy/meat/non meat protein contains about 10g protein, and according to my recommended servings previously mentioned, I am to have 5 – 6 servings of proteinous foods a day. That means that 60g of protein comes from food. With me so far? That leaves 20 – 30g of protein to source from other places. She said another 10g would come from incidental foods (ones that aren’t known for their protein but have small amounts) so I’m left with 20g that I have to get from supplements. I still have some of my WPI powder (whey protein isolate, the simplest/best form of supplementary protein) from when I was sleeved so I hereby vow to put 20g worth of powder into my nightly (diet) hot chocolate. Which means Boyfriend gets a dose too, because I make our hot choc in a saucepan like the good housewife I’m pretending to be.

3. Track. Track. Write everything down that I eat. If it goes into this gob, it gets tracked. I think I’ll use the iPhone to do it, seeing as its attached to me constantly. And make photocopies of the papers she gave me and keep them in my handbag for constant reference. Also, I will lecture my girlfriends tomorrow at the playcentre so it sinks into my brain.

 

1000 calories. Hot damn. Wish me luck, I’ll keep you posted. Must buy scales so I can track my weight accurately. LJ xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Selina
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 12:00:33

    Luck? Pfft you don’t need it! You can do it!

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 13:55:09

    Eek 1000calories is sooo low. I couldn’t do it.
    But I am aiming for 7kg in 4 months, so keep me accountable too. Am starting tomorrow morning with my super-duper-awesome-sauce diet and exercise plan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

