Woman.

Am I particularly lucky, or does everyone have such good women in their lives? I have such diverse friends, from different walks of life and situations. I knew they were awesome, but their spectacular breed of awesomeness has come out over this roller coaster over the last couple of months. When I was cringing at the third chance I’ve given Boyfriend, they all surprised me by being overwhelmingly supportive.

 

I love their different approaches to friendship. BFF (who I’m sure hates it when I call her that) tells me what she thinks, sometimes wrapped up in quirky metaphores and exceedingly sensible logic. She gets me, and knows my weirdo brain better than I do, most of the time. In fact when our decade of friendship is up, I may have to kill her, she knows too much. She’s the frontwoman of a group of friends I see a few times a week, who I can call on if I need a child free afternoon, a cuppa, a whinge, or cash. Their kids are Lovechild’s besties, and I’d trust them with her absolutely. In future blogs, these people will be henceforth known as the Butter Chicken Friends. Obviously.

 

The High School Friends are another group entirely. We all went to the same upmarket private girls school, but are now in totally different situations. We catch up monthly or so, and its so great learning what has been happening in each other’s lives, you know? I’m loving seeing the women these ‘girls’ are growing into, and the families they are building. One of them is the proud careful lady owner of the previously mentioned wedding, so all the misery associated with Boyfriend is entirely her fault, mkay? I love that I can go months without seeing these girls, but as soon as something happens – good or bad – we can be on the phone to one another and just pick up where we left off.  Dinners out with this bunch and their manfellows is always a laugh, and usually dramatic, there’s been car accidents, head injuries, and soooo much vomit.

 

Next up is the Serial Killers. These ladies are from all over Australia and all have kids born in the same month as Lovechild. For people that I have only met a few times, these girls are the best cyber friends a girl could ask for. They are funny as anything – despite our diversity ( and we are very diverse!) we have been close from the word go. There’s the occasional moment of tension but the fact that we are such an important part of one anothers’ lives after all this time shows what a bond we have. They are inspirational Mothers and Women. I can not wait till the next time we all get to have Penis Coladas together. I actually crave face time with these people. I yearn to see them. Insert moment of melancholy, and something about a sad panda.

 

Many of the above friends I count as family, but I’m also incredibly blessed when it comes to actual family. I have a sister who I have always (usually?) gotten on well with, but in the last couple of years we’ve become much closer. I wonder if that’s to do with the fact that she’s lived far far away for the last few years? I think as she’s gotten older, we’ve become closer. She listens to what I have to say, whether its soppy, dirty, irresponsible or funny and tells it as it is. She’s also the best farter in the Southern Hemisphere, and that’s a really important quality in a sister, don’t you think? My mum is the best, she’s everything a girl could want in a Mum. But there are some issues a Mum just doesn’t need to cope with from a daughter, and for that I have a couple of Aunties who are pretty robust. They are role models of the highest order, and the kind of women I aim to be. One of them is my newest reader, hi Helga ❤ Those Aunties have daughters who are just the best girls in the world. I’ve watched them grow from baby cousins to women, and while it scares the CRAP out of me to see them growing up, I have more respect for them every time we talk. Sometimes they stuff up (there was an episode with a funnel) but these are the girls I’d be most likely to catch grenades for, throw hands on blades for, and all the other things that Mr Mars uses as parameters for loving people.

 

Then there are the strays. People that are oh-so-important to me but that don’t fit snugly into any of the above groups. Becnextdoor, for one.  She’s as ‘deep and meaningful’ as me so appreciates the value of a soppy, deep blog as much as I do. She’s also inspirational in how she holds herself together (and also lets herself let go) through some pretty intense challenges for someone her age to deal with. One day Bec, hopefully soon. And my Grandma, to finish. She rocks. Nuff said.

 

Right, that was such a long blog, I’m off in search of a snack. LJ xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bec
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 23:30:06

    Love your guts LJ xxx

    Reply

  2. Cyclone Katrina
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 20:44:20

    Fartttttttt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

