A vent

Just let me get this out, then I’ll go back to chirpy happy posts.

My 3.5 year old (let’s call her Daisy) spends 6 nights a fortnight at her dads. 5 of them in a row (every second ‘weekend’) and the stray Monday nights. I don’t really like the arrangement, I’d much prefer to have her 100% of the time, or 3 or 4 nights away tops. But its what we agreed on and it means I get to work my 4 nights a fortnight as well as have a night or two to myself.

In the last few months, the woman that Daisy’s dad had been living with for a couple of years walked away without a backward glance. D was unsettled for a while, but was ok. Since then, he has met a new woman (who is much nicer) and has introduced D to her as his “friend.” Its been probably 3 months since they met, and he told me yesterday to let me know that he was going to be moving to her house, so they can save for a deposit on a house together. He said that D would have her own room there, and it would be her new home. I congratulated him and left, but the more I thought about it the madder I got. The poor kid has just gotten back on track after C walked away, and now she will be moving to a new house/room/woman, in an arrangement that may or may not last. I feel sad for her 😦

We had a chat about it, and he’s agreed to give up one night of his fortnight, so D has a house that she can call ‘home,’ and operate from there. That way, should everything go pear shaped, she has some stability in her life. A happy ending I guess, but as I said, my overwhelming feeling was sadness for her. She’s so little, at such a formative age, and the kid has coped with all the crap we’ve thrown at her over the last 3.5 years. We should be keeping her as our number one priority, rather than our penises emotional dependencies financial statuses.

Vent over, thanks for listening. LJxx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MG
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 17:14:51

    Poor D 😦

    Reply

  2. Selina
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 22:32:29

    Oh no. Poor Daisy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

