Domesticity

I’d like to blog about the relationship between my clean shiny house and my mental health.

The ‘before’ photos of my house are worse than most of you can imagine, they really were terrible. Now that I’ve had a fresh start, I have a chance at normal. I can’t explain how hard it was to get up and be cheerful and well dressed and eat well when my house was so non-condusive to that. How do you find something lovely to wear when all your clothes are buried under inches of trackies and trash? How do you take the time to brush your hair when you can’t find any of the 8 hairbrushes you know you have. How do you get motivated to go to the gym when you can’t find an outfit, your shoes, a water bottle, gym towel, gym pass, ipod etc. How on earth do you resist the ease of a McMeal when its impossible to cook in your messy, awful kitchen?

I woke up this morning, Saturday. Little Lady jumped into bed with me just before 7am, as she usually does, and roughly ten seconds later started nagging at me for breakfast. I heaved myself out of bed (NOT a morning person…) and made porridge for both of us, and sat and had a chat with her over brekkie. Then I popped the TV on for her, convinced her that just because it wasn’t animated, Hannah Montana was still a kids show, and climbed back into bed with a book. An hour or so later I got up, changed bed sheets, did dishes, chatted with a friend. Am now off to visit Gran, then home again to do another load of washing, put dinner on and vacuum. Then we’ll relax after dinner in the knowledge that the house is clean enough, She is safe, and tomorrow will be a bright shiny new day.

A month ago, we would have gotten up, gone out for breakfast (telling myself that it was good mother daughter bonding, but really was an excuse to eat junk food and go out of the house.) Then we would have gone to the shops, spend more money on things we didn’t need, eaten more food we didn’t need and gotten home in the early evening, junk food/comfort food safely tucked away for after Missy has gone to bed. I’d attempt to clean, but it was just such an enormous job that after an hour I’d have barely made a dent, and would find some excuse to stop.

Life is sweet πŸ™‚

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 16:54:44

    You are doing so brilliantly hon πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Mandy
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 02:08:10

    I understand your post completely! Well done on your changes, keep inspiring me πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

