Hospital and surgery part 1

It’s done! I am the proud owner of a new, teeny tiny tummy. I love her already.

June 28th I checked in to the hospital at 6.30am, carrying a bag that my mum insisted had far too many sets of clothes in it. Mums are always right. I was shown to my room pretty quickly, given a gown to change into (I kept my knickers on!!) and a bed to jump into. Cue nervous chatter and inappropriate jokes ( telling the nurse she couldn’t put the name tag on that leg because that’s the one they were chopping off was a highlight, specially when she didn’t get it. Awkward.) The anaesthetist stopped by, poor love had a cough. I thought mum was going to tell him to cover his mouth. He decided I seemed far too calm for a premed, and I guess I was really. The peak of my anxiety was probably when a nurse and an orderly came and wheeled me into the elevator and up to the theatre waiting room. After answering the same questions about when I’d last eaten, what I was having done and if I had allergies for about the fifth time ( don’t get me wrong, I wad glad they kept asking, I’d hate to come out of surgery and find I’d accidentally been given a prostatectomy or something) it was time to say bye to mum and be wheeled into the operating room. The anaesthetist was there, as was his assistant and a team of nurses setting up the surgical instruments. There was a bit of chatter and then he told me he was giving me some midazolam and something else, and that I would drift off to sleep. Last thing I remember was thinking that t was strange how this was one of the most major days of my life, but everyone was going about their business like it was an everyday occurance.

Next thing I know i was in recovery, waking up and feeling like I’d been hit by a truck. My first words to the nurse were “I’ve changed my mind, I want to go home.” It was such an awful feeling, I was nauseus and in pain and my blood pressure was through the roof, they were giving me everything in their arsenal to bring it down. It was just this overwhelming feeling of “what have I done??” which also came up over the next few days and this past week. Please excuse my poor sentence structure, I’m lying in a single bed with a toddler and on my iPhone.

When I got back to the room my mummy was waiting, she was like a breath of fresh air. I was still only just coming round and it must have been stressful for her, they were still trying everything to get my blood pressure to come down and it wouldn’t. Actually my bp played up the whole time I was in hospital, which is strange because it’s normally perfect. They eventually decided my head wasn’t going to pop, and everything settled down. They were giving me regular anti vomit meds and I had a button I could press for pain relief. About mid arvo I was able to walk to the toilet for a wee, but spent most of that day and night in bed.

I think that’ll have to be all for tonight, time to go to sleep. Will finish up in the morning LJxx

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MM
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 05:03:55

    Reply

  2. mandy
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 11:21:40

    lol well that nurse just didn’t deserve to nurse you then…tbc

    Reply

  3. Bec
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 08:25:30

    Woohoo! Cant wait to hear EVERYTHING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

