My tiny creature

Just a warning before we go ahead, this blog is going to be all ab0ut how lucky I am to have my gorgeous 3 year old, and I know there are a couple of you who might not cope very well with the concept. Just a heads up 🙂

Almost exactly 4 years ago, I was a crazy woman. More so that now, I mean. I was having daily meltdowns, could not at all cope with the fact that I was going through a break up, my uni work was going downhill rapidly. Something was up. Of course I couldn’t be pregnant because I’d done a pregnancy test a couple of months earlier, and it was definately a negative. Besides, I just couldn’t be. Turns out, I was.  It was an awful time, especially given the state of my ‘relationship’ and the fact that I was in my final year of my degree, living with my best friend and scraping around the back of the car for stray coins so I could buy enough petrol to get to uni.  However even when I had no idea how far along I was, or how the heck I was going to afford/raise/birth a baby, there was this underlying sense of incredible excitement. I was going to be a mum. I always wanted to be a young mum (obviously in different circumstances) but now even if I never found someone to marry (hello low self esteem?) it would be ok because I had this baby.

That baby is now the most scrumptious three-and-a-half year old you could imagine. She is the spitting image of her parents one minute, then looking like no-one at all the next. She learns new things every day that blow my mind, just yesterday she waved her Pops off and told him to “Drive carefully.” I’m sure she has no idea she is actually three, and rather thinks she’s just a particularly short 15 year old. Sometimes, when I lean in for a lippy kiss, I inhale as she exhales just so I can smell and ‘have’ her breath in me. A well placed, offhand “love you Mum” can bring tears to my eyes. And even after three years, I am still not used to waving her off for the (long long) weekends she spends with her beloved Daddy each fortnight, although I’m getting better at putting on a good show.

People say that their baby is the smartest, cutest, most loving child, but they are mistaken. Mine is, and I say that without a hint of bias. I know some pretty freaking cute kids, so I’m well qualified to make that point. She just absorbs knowledge, and three days later will repeat the words to a song you were singing or a book you were reading to her. She can usually be found toting a ‘baby’ (either a doll, toy, or strategically rolled up tea towel) and either rocking it or breastfeeding it to sleep. She loves her best friends like brothers, although she is going to marry one of them, with a white party dress, and some flowers, pink and white flowers, because pink is her favourite colour, don’t you know, and girls love pink.

I think I am done gushing about my weet-bix munching bambina n0w. Thanks for indulging me 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. MM
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:12:14

    I’m sorry, she’s going to have to marry both they refuse to go without. We may have to start lobbying for polygamy now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

