I’ve got a date

Of the surgery kind, not the man kind. God, can you imagine?

I had my appointment with the French Canadian, ever so spunky Dr P. He is one of the pioneering surgeons of this surgery (Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy) both here in Aus and in the USA and Canada too. I told him I was a nurse at Hospital X, but that I’d heard such good things about him that I wanted to go with him anyway (he operates at Hospital Y.) He was very flattered and was so thorough answering my questions that his wife/receptionist had to come in and make hints about the waiting room being full of people. Oops. He has done over 800 of THIS surgery and has had 2 leaks and NO deaths. They are pretty impressive stats, and I feel like I’m as safe as I could be having surgery.

Anyway, we talked about the three surgical options (lap band,Ā  sleeve and bypass) and he agreed that the sleeve was the best option for me. What it involves is a laparoscopic removal of the D part of the stomach, leaving just a long thin stomach. It still does all the same things a normal stomach does, but much much smaller. It also decreases the production of a hormone called Ghrelin (or something like that) which produces hunger feelings and the desire to eat. The surgery takes about an hour and a half to two hours, is done under a general anaesthetic and will leave me with 4 tiny scars and a bigger one, maybe an inch or two long. The expected hospital stay is 2 to 3 nights. I sooo hope I get a private room or I won’t sleep worrying about my snoring keeping my room mate awake.

Pain wise I can expect to be connected to a PCA pump (patient controlled analgesia) that delivers morphine at the push of a button. I’ve never had morphine before, can’t wait šŸ˜› I think they will take that out after a day or so and replace it with morphine elixer. I’ll also have a small drain in which will be removed after a day or two. From what I’ve read, most of the pain comes from the gas that they use to blow up the stomach for the lap surgery. Lots of walking tends to help with that, and they try and get you up and moving asap out of surgery. I’ll also have to inject myself daily with blood thinners for 6 weeks post op, because of the genetic clotting condition I have.

So my surgery date is Monday the 28th of June. All the hair on the back of my arms stood up when I typed that. I have to be at the hospital at 6.30am, and have fasted 8 hours before that. I hope to be out of hospital by Wednesday or Thursday, and then on Friday I am off to Rottnest with my lovely family. A bit ambitious but once I get there, I will be able to take it easy and recover at my own pace.

I’m seeing the dietician early next week so I will have more details of pre and post op diet to blog about then. Bedtime now LJ xx

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MG
    May 19, 2010 @ 22:53:15

    woo hoo šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Moa Wilhelmsson
    May 20, 2010 @ 14:56:40

    You sound really excited, I am so happy for you, you are doing this for yourself. Best of luck for next month!

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    May 24, 2010 @ 14:52:40

    I second the woohoo! I can;t wait to follow your progress hon šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

